Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

One Day Down…

leave a comment »

Day one was today, and overall I think it went pretty well.  There were the usual ups and downs, and a couple of things  I hadn’t planned for. Right now I am going to highlight three things that I definitely learned today while teaching my two courses:

1. Overplan. Today was definitely a day where I should have planned for more than I would need. By the end of my plans for the first class, I was left with 25 minutes to kill and little in the way of an idea to fill it.  To make matters more difficult, I was unable to let my students leave early.  In the long run, I plan to overflow my lesson plans with activities to keep class going in the event this arises again.

2. Write Things Down. There were a couple of instances after class today where I thought of things that I would have been smart to have mentioned in class…sadly it was after class.  Luckily, I was able to rectify the mistake through e-mail since I was sending out a copy of the course schedule. In the future, I think I will write down everything I need to tell my students on the lesson plan and follow that better in the actual class.

3. Practice Practice Practice. I can definitely say that I wish I had practiced going over the syllabus information more than I actually did.  There were instances where I felt very uncomfortable giving out the information because I noticed myself reading the information off of the page to my students.  In the future, specifically next semester, I plan on having a better knowledge of the information contained on the syllabus.

So those are three specific things that I noticed needed improvement in my performance as an instructor.  It was encouraging when I was told by one of my students that I was doing a good job, but then again it could have been the student trying to work up some brownie points.  For the time being, I’m going to assume that it was a legitimate comment.

Written by emeraldarcher

August 24, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

