Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

Running Down a Dream…

leave a comment »

It’s that time again, the weather is beautiful and the sun is shining, it’s time to start running outdoors. This winter, I tried something new and opted to do work on a treadmill to try and maintain some semblance of shape. Sadly, it appears as if that effort is in vain because right now running is tough. Ever since I quit back in 05, I’ve tried to keep my dream of getting back to my old form alive to intermittent success.

My goal last summer was to run a 5k in under 25 minutes, and I succeeded…and then some. In the spirit of my competitive mentality, my new goal for this year is to break the 200lb barrier and finish the summer with a daily 5 miles. To contribute to this success, I plan on running more races and pushing myself further than I had ever imagined I would after high school. Right now, 3 miles sucks but is getting easier and an increase to 4 by April is a reasonable expectation.

One of the difficulties in doing this, especially at this point in my life, is motivation. I find many different ways to do it, anger, frustration, music, stress, and videos all manage to get me ready for a run. As an example, I leave with this video. It has motivated me a lot to keep going because it represents a feeling I have had many, many times on my runs.

Happy trails.

Written by emeraldarcher

March 3, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

