Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

Summer Movie Season Started Today?

with 2 comments

In the midst of my spring break doldrums, I ventured out to see a new movie released today. It’s a flick called Battle: Los Angeles and is the story of a Marine (played by Aaron Eckart, Two-Face in The Dark Knight) and an alien invasion.

As I sat in the theater, one major thing stood out to me above all: visually speaking, this movie is awesome. It looked fantastic and I can’t wait to try it out on blu-ray with surround sound and the works. Beyond that, it’s a fairly generic film. The dialogue and characters were full of the usual military flair, you have the grizzled veteran on his way out (played by Eckart), the recently promoted lieutenant that is in over his head (played by Ramon Rodriguez, who I hardly recognized from Transformers 2) and the soldier who lost a brother from the veteran’s former unit. Pairing this with cliche’ dialogue is, usually, a recipe for disaster, but it works here. This is probably because I was so focused on the visuals throughout the movie, and they are a whole lot of fun.

It’s strange to me to sit in a movie theater in March while watching what I would normally consider a Summer popcorn flick, but, when I look at what is coming up, I can see how this was an ideal choice for release. When released right now in March, it doesn’t have much in the way of nerdy competition. If it had been released in May, June, or July, it has to take on Thor, Captain America, Harry Potter’s finale, and the sketch new X-Men outing.

Normally, I would give this one a 3/5, but, since it is actually an original film and not an adaptation, reboot, or remake, it gets an additional point and rates out at 4/5. Plus, the historical basis for this movie rocks if you are a WWII nerd like I am. If you have time, look it up and enjoy the weirdness/UFO cover up.

Because it appears that many of the movies I want to see are coming out soon, I’m going to put together a Spring/Summer movie blowout coming soon…until then, here is the trailer for Battle: Los Angeles:

Written by emeraldarcher

March 11, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John! how did you embed the youtube video like that? I tried to google it but it’s too confusing for my computer-challenged brain.

    Lauren

    March 14, 2011 at 12:12 pm


Leave a Reply

