Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

About Last Night…

leave a comment »

In case you haven’t heard, Osama Bin Laden is dead. Kind of a big deal if you live in America, at least certainly more so than the royal wedding. Similar to when the terrible 9/11 attacks on the World Trade Center and Pentagon, and all of America, I feel like this is an event that we will all remember where we were.

On September 11, 2001, I was in Biology class when the principal came on the intercom and told us what had happened. The teacher then turned on the TV and we got to watch in horror as the first tower came down. It was a scary time, especially when you’re young, because we had little understanding of the world at that point. All we knew was that America was under attack.

On May 1, 2011, I was at work when the story broke. A friend asked me what I thought the President would speak about and I asked what she was talking about. Immediately I turned to the news and sat through half an hour of speculation on what the announcement was before the story broke and we all found out that Bin Laden was dead.

The same as I won’t forget where I was in 2001, I will not forget where I am right now. I’m lucky to be able to say that I have grown so much in the nearly ten years in between events, and will continue to do so in America. The same as I have grown, millions of other Americans have, too. Babies have been born, people have passed on, but things are still the same. Their aim was to assault our way of life and they have failed. As former President Bush said, nearly ten years ago, “Terrorist attacks can shake the foundations of our biggest buildings, but they cannot touch the foundation of America. These acts shatter steel, but they cannot dent the steel of American resolve.”

The point of this isn’t to celebrate death; the point is to celebrate life. With the death of Osama Bin Laden, we have shown that we did not cower in fear and change our ways. The same words that were used to provide hope and reassurance can now be said in the past tense. When, in 2001, we were told that we would endure, it is now 2011 and we have endured. To me, that is the real victory here.

Written by emeraldarcher

May 2, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

