Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

Week Late Movie Reviews…The Hangover Part 2

leave a comment »

I still remember the first time I saw The Hangover, I had seen a few commercials for it but wasn’t sure what to think of it. So I got my brother and we went to go see what I was sure was going to be a forgettable comedy, boy was I wrong. By the end of the epically hilarious credits, I was pleasantly surprised at how funny this movie actually was. Bradley Cooper was playing a great straight man to Zack Galifiankis’ insane Alan, Ed Helms was equally hilarious, and the movie put together a great, new, comedy trio. I liked The Hangover enough that it was put in the same class as movies like Old School, Anchorman, Animal House and the rest, movies that were so funny they didn’t need a sequel because there was no way it could do justice. Then I heard about The Hangover Part 2…

Full disclosure, I didn’t think there was a need for a sequel to The Hangover. In fact, I had very low expectations for this movie when I saw the first trailer. Luckily, I was convinced to go to a midnight showing and, similarly to the first movie, I was pleasantly surprised. If you’re looking for something new, The Hangover Part 2 isn’t for you. If you didn’t like the first movie, then this definitely isn’t for you. If you liked the first movie and want more of the same, just cranked to 11, then this is definitely one you need to see.

The location is different, they are now in Bangkok, the missing friend is different, instead of Doug it is now Stu’s future brother in-law, and it is now Stu’s chance to get married. Beyond that, the premise is the same, including another fun performance from Ken Jeong. Without giving too much away for this one, if you liked the first movie then go see the second. By this point, I’m sure you already have.

Written by emeraldarcher

June 2, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Leave a Reply

