Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

Please Don’t Screw This Up…

leave a comment »

Green Lantern is my favorite superhero. I’m not 100% sure why, it could be the semi-obscurity of the character, it could be the fact that I didn’t want to pick someone from Marvel and I sure as hell didn’t want Batman or Superman, or it could be the awesome episodes of Superfriends I used to watch on Cartoon Network. I really don’t know, but what I do know is that coming tomorrow night I will be at the movie theater to see the Green Lantern movie. All I can ask is that they don’t screw this up.

I know that may seem a little bit too much to ask, and I know that I tend to be a little harsh with superhero movies (Wolverine does not count with this, it deserved every bad thing I said about it), but this time I really need it not to suck. For all that is right in the world, this movie needs to not be as bad as it originally looked.

It really isn’t that hard to do, it all begins with the story. They can make a coherent story for this movie that will set up a good origin provide multiple avenues for future plots. Green Lantern even has it built in for this movie with Sinestro and the yellow impurity, and they really don’t even have to touch on a story from the comics. In fact, I don’t want them to have it be based completely on a story arc from the comics. X-Men: First Class showed that a movie can be made about certain characters from another medium without it being based on any one story from the publishing history…and it can be done well.

Following a good story, they need good actors, and I think they did well in casting Ryan Reynolds. With the additions of Mark Strong playing Sinestro, and Peter Sarsgaard playing Hector Hammond, plus a fun group of voice actors playing the rest of the Green Lantern Corps, I feel like this movie will at least be portrayed well by the performers. Finally, there is Blake Lively, and I really haven’t got a whole lot to say about her that we haven’t seen on the internet already.

Following story and performers, it comes down to the visuals. The costumes and special effects…and in this one they are a little bit of the same thing. I’m really not sure how I feel about the costume yet, I’ve seen a lot of the commercials and trailers and I just don’t have a reaction yet. On the one hand, it looks pretty slick at times…on the other hand the boots look dumb and I really have never enjoyed Hal’s green mask. It’s 6 one way half a dozen the other for me on this one. Luckily, the effects look pretty cool and hopefully they live up to what has been seen so far.

I know this one is a long shot, I know I’ve been a little too impressed so far this year for Hollywood to pull of the trifecta, and I know the movie is sitting at 27% on Rotten Tomatoes, but let me have this one. This movie needs to succeed or else Warner Brothers will be hesitant to make other DC movies. This movie needs to succeed or else we will see a Nolanization of other DC properties even though that only works with Batman. This movie needs to succeed because Warner Brothers will maybe think they should have made the comedy Green Lantern with Jack Black. This movie needs to succeed because, dammit, I want a good, entertaining Green Lantern movie.

I’m trying not to get my hopes up.

Written by emeraldarcher

June 15, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Leave a Reply

