Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

A Little Late, But I Promise It’s Good…

leave a comment »

Sometimes the shows we watch as kids leave a lasting impression. With just a few notes, I can pick out the theme songs to shows like Reading Rainbow, Gargoyles, X-Men, Goosebumps, Doug and millions of other shows that I spent my childhood afternoons and Saturday mornings watching. It provided a great nostalgic time in college when my friends and I could gather around a computer screen and watch YouTube videos of all our favorite shows, providing us a rare opportunity to remember the old days even though we were all in the 18-20 age range.

That feeling was one of the reasons I got legitimately excited when I heard about A-1’s After School Special mixtape, because he samples the classic shows I grew up watching for his raps and they all sound great. A-1 is a rapper out of the San Francisco bay area and I have definitely grown to enjoy his stuff…even to the point of annoying my last girlfriend with it. Don’t believe me? Check this out…

When it first came out, I was definitely into the Power Rangers phenomenon and to hear someone sample the beat to put together a solid rap that that is awesome. Power Rangers isn’t the only major show sampled either, he uses shows like Pokemon, Family Matters, Doug, and a whole lot more.

Like what you hear? Check it out here. Want to hear a few more of my favorites? Check it out after the jump.

Written by emeraldarcher

June 21, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

