Views From The Other Side

I guess I turned to the dark side…

On Friends…

leave a comment »

It’s taken me a little over a week to be able to put this into words and I still don’t completely know if I have it right. I have some of the best friends anyone could ever ask for, so much so to the point that a lot of times it can get taken for granted. Locations change, people change, and sometimes you just can’t keep in touch as much as you would like. Sometimes you realize those things a little too late.

On Saturday, July 9, one of my former roommates, Todd, was in an accident…and he didn’t make it. In the days following, I didn’t know what to do, or think, or say and in a lot of ways I still don’t. Todd was a great friend, the kind of guy that made you feel like you had been buddies for years whether you had just met him 5 minutes prior or had lived with him for a year. Todd was the kind of guy that made anything fun, regardless of whether it was a trip to Olpe, Kansas or a night hanging out at the apartment. I could go on about how great he was to be around and how inspiring he was and a million other attributes that made him more influential in 24 years than most people are in a lifetime, but that is some thing you can all feel free to ask me another time.

To say that Todd is going to be missed is an understatement, the funeral service showed me that. As much as it hurts and as much as we don’t understand it, I don’t think he would want a lot of sadness. Knowing how many people he directly and indirectly touched would definitely make him proud.

Even though Todd is no longer with us, I know that his memory will carry on in all of his friends, family and acquaintances because of the way he impacted all of our lives.

RIP, buddy.

Written by emeraldarcher

July 18, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

